Mobile Spas – A unique Indian Invention?

In the Management jargon one often hears of  Market  innovation. Here is a truly original Indian invention which I term as  “Mobile Spas”. Not only did I witness this but was a beneficiary of this service very recently. Let me narrate my experience:
Myself & my wife  recently went on a trip to Jammu and Kashmir. We went trekking (partly) on the hills to have a darshan of Vishnav Devi shrine near Jammu. It was quite a strenuous journey as we had to walk uphill and had to wait in long qeues for hours for Darshan. It was well past midnight by the time we started walking down the hill. With sore feet and aching muscles and joints, every step was a pain. That was when I chanced to meet a guy asking me in Hindi – “Sir Ji aap ke paav ka massage kar doon? aap fresh ho jaayenge”. My initial reaction was one of disbelief. The offer was too tempting to resist, although I was not sure of how to respond. I said ‘yes’ tentatively, still confused about his intentions. What if he tricked me and snatched away my purse! Finally, my aching joints prevailed and I said ‘yes’,  still not sure as to how much to pay him. He immediately took the opportunity and did a great job of massaging my feet for about 5 minutes. I paid him 50 bucks and started my walk afresh. He insisted on accompanying us all the way down to massage me every 20 minutes or so. But I felt it was a security risk and dissuaded him from doing so. He stayed back looking for other customers. On the way down, I found several other guys offering to do massage  for charges varying from 10 to 30 bucks and I did make a few more pit stops on the way!

Come to think of it,  isn’t it a unique and innovative service being offered at the right place, at the right time and at the right price? I was thoroughly impressed even as the guys made well deserved fast bucks.

Published in: on June 3, 2012 at 10:49 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://csnarasimhan.wordpress.com/2012/06/03/mobile-spas-a-unique-indian-invention/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

