Enfant terrible

This infant has chased me since my boyhood without any let up. As a boy I ignored him. But as an adult, I just could not afford to neglect him. It is strange that he never seems to grow up. As an adult I nurtured him and gave all my attention. If I ever tried to ignore, there were people around who would turned the heat on me saying the infant had to be taken care after all. He refused to let me have peace throughout. After my studies, I thought I would get some respite but he started making more demands. I gave him all my time. My efforts were always focused on him. But still, he would not be satisfied. Not only that, if he ever got what he wanted, he would ignore me completely and simply say: ‘Thank God , I got what I wanted’. My efforts, my time, my hard work – everything was taken for granted. If he did not get what he wanted, of course, he would throw tantrums and make me even more miserable.  The saying – damned if I do and damned if I don’t – best summed up my situation.

He behaved as if I existed only for his sake. He thrived on solid support of my friends and relatives as they were ever ready to remind and even taunt me if I dared to neglect him.

Only recently did I realize how to ignore and keep him quiet. The result is tremendous peace!

Yes, as you might have guessed, the lil’ fellow I’m talking about is my FUTURE. He haunted and chased me like a shadow and never gave up.

Come to think of it, don’t we sacrifice our precious present for the sake of an imaginary future? We nurture and nourish our future as we do with our infants. We work relentlessly for our future house, future job, future security and what not. When the intended and planned future arrives, we take it for granted and are ready with next set of goals. When do we enjoy the present? It’s now or never! As someone said: Let us take care of the present. The future will take care of itself!

Published in: on February 28, 2015 at 9:08 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://csnarasimhan.wordpress.com/2015/02/28/enfant-terrible/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

